About Us

We started our company in 2010, as a result of a master’s degree thesis project and a group of really dedicated people who share our vision. We are still family owned and operated, and try to always keep our family feel.

Our culture is less “corporate” and more creative. Our building walls are brightly colored, windows are tilted on angle, and we have an air conditioned warehouse for our employees. We cook lunch for everyone every day with our full-time cook, have massage days, and celebrate our successes. In short, we have personality, and it shows not only in our brands, and our building, but also our people.

Our brands are a reflection of our personality. We wanted first and foremost high quality, exceptional style with our bottles and labels, offered at a reasonable and fair price. We create great tasting brands. Our brands have a story behind them based on where we have lived and people who have transformed our lives. We hope you join our journey to these places and share our vision.

Owners

Merrilee
Merrilee Kick created the BuzzBallz concept and founded the company in Carrollton, Texas with the goal to revolutionize the world of mixed drinks. She had the idea to make new, unbreakable containers so she invented the first plastic beverage ‘can’ sold in the USA. Her thought was to create a product that was safe for all activities like the beach, pool, camping, or tailgating with drinks prepared like you would make them at home with real juice and natural ingredients. She wanted customers to be able to purchase ‘by the drink’ and mix and match flavors without being forced to buy a 4 or 6-pack. Lastly, she wanted a good, strong drink that isn’t watered down-one strong enough to put you in the party spirit. In 2016, she transformed the company to complement the ready-to- drink part of the business. Southern Champion has a broader scope and utilizes the talents and equipment to create spirit and wine lines with a focus on premium brands with exceptional style.

Alex
Alex, part owner and founder, helped design the BuzzBallz concept. He has been involved in the company since its conception by assisting in the development of flavors and marketing strategies. He oversees all aspects of the business and is involved in many of the day-to day operations of the company. Alex works at the BuzzBallz headquarters in Carrollton, TX and is always looking for new ventures and business partners.

Andrew
Andrew, part owner and founder, helped develop many of the flavors and contributed to the revolutionary way BuzzBallz separates itself from the rest of its competitors. He has been involved in every aspect of the company, offering him valuable experience on how to adapt in new or unknown work environments. Andrew has taken this experience and applied it to his position as a sales representative within the company. He also works extensively with product development and brainstorming new ideas that could possibly transform the alcohol industry.

OUR TEAM

CEO

Merrilee Kick
kick@southern-champion.com

PRESIDENT

Alex Kick
alex.kick@southern-champion.com

VICE PRESIDENT

Andrew Kick
andrew.kick@southern-champion.com

SHIPPING/RECEIVING/POS

Tina Kick
tina.kick@southern-champion.com
Main Office: 972-242-3777

PLANT MANAGER

Cheo Cavil
cheo.cavil@southern-champion.com
Main Office: 972-242-3777

LEGAL COUNSEL

Charles Irvin
charles.irvin@southern-champion.com
Main Office: 972-242-3777

BILLING/INVOICING

ap@southern-champion.com
Main Office: 972-242-3777

ADMINISTRATION

admin@buzzballz.com
Main Office: 972-242-3777

SALES TEAM

Blair Casey, VP Sales/Marketing
blair.casey@southern-champion.com

Ronnie Ellis, Sales Director, East Region
ronnie.ellis@southern-champion.com
Ohio, New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts

Phil Musser, Sales Director, West Region
phil.musser@southern-champion.com

Andrew Kick , Sales Director, West Coast
andrew.kick@southern-champion.com
California

Whitney Sharp, National Chain Sales Director
whitney.sharp@southern-champion.com

Adam Vesely,  National On-Premise Director
adam.vesely@southern-champion.com

Meagen Howard,  On-Premise Sales Manager
meagen.howard@southern-champion.com
Texas

Bradley Cooper, Territory Sales Manager
brad.cooper@southern-champion.com
Montana, Wyoming, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Colorado

Darren Summers, Sales Manager
darren.summers@southern-champion.com
Texas, Louisiana, Hawaii

Open, Sales Manager
Kansas, Oklahoma, Arkansas

Nanci McCook, Sales Manager
nanci.mccooki@southern-champion.com
Alabama, Florida, Tennessee, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia, Mississippi, Georgia

Darolyn Skelton, Sales Manager
darolyn.skelton@southern-champion.com
New Mexico, Arizona, Nevada,  Washington

Kevin Paschke, Sales Manager
kevin.paschke@southern-champion.com
Minnesota, Iowa, Missouri, Wisconsin, Illinois, Michigan, Indiana, Kentucky

Merrilee Kick, International Sales
kick@southern-champion.com
Bermuda, China, Puerto Rico, Taiwan, Philippines, Hong Kong

  • image
  • image
  • image
  • image

image2114 McDaniel Drive
Carrollton, TX 75006

image info@southern-champion.com

image 877-891-3777
972-242-3777